As of Thursday, leisure marijuana will probably be authorized within the state of New Jersey for anybody 21 and older.
Gov. Phil Murphy known as it a historic step to create a brand new hashish business.
New Jersey and 17 different states, together with the District of Columbia, have legalized leisure marijuana. Thirty-seven states, together with Pennsylvania, have legalized medical marijuana.
The official New Jersey state web site says anybody – Jersey residents or guests – 21 and older can purchase from state-licensed dispensaries. And you’ll need to point out a government-issued ID card to be able to buy the product. Nevertheless, that very same web site specifies that it’s nonetheless unlawful to move hashish throughout state strains.
“In case you’re bringing it into Pennsylvania you are possessing marijuana which remains to be against the law in Pennsylvania,” stated Lehigh County District Legal professional Jim Martin.
So in the event you’re present in possession within the Keystone State, what does that imply?
“Underneath 30 grams or much less is a….misdemeanor, carries with it a tremendous of as much as $500 or imprisonment for 30 days,” Martin stated.
And if it is over 30 grams, that penalty is greater.
“It might rely on how a lot. If it was possession with intent to distribute, it is a felony,” Martin stated.